Cliometric Society Fellows Honored at Clemson May 15, 2014

On Friday May 17, the Cliometric Society will induct its 2013 Class of Fellows at the annual meeting, held this year at Clemson. This year, the society is honoring the scholarly contributions of five economic historians.

Barry Eichengreen is George C. and Helen N. Pardee Professor of Economics and Political Science at the University of California – Berkeley, and is a leading scholar of the international financial system. He is the recipient of numerous honors, and in 2011 was named one of the top 100 Global Thinkers by Foreign Policy Magazine.

Alexander Field is Michel and Mary Orradre Professor of Economics at Santa Clara University. His recent book A Great Leap Forward: 1930s Depression and U.S. Economic Growth won the Alice Hanson Jones Award from the Economic History Association and an Alpha Sigma Nu National Book Award, both in 2012.

Philip Hoffman is Rea A. and Lela G. Axline Professor of Business Economics and Professor of History at the California Institute of Technology. He is the author of several award winning books, and is currently the President of the Economic History Association.

John Komlos is Visiting Professor of Economics at Duke University, a position he has held since retiring as Professor of Economics and Chair of the Institute of Economic History at the University of Munich. He is the author of over 170 articles, on various topics, including health economics, the biological standard of living in historical perspective, the industrial revolution, and agriculture.

Richard Sylla is Henry Kaufman Professor of the History of Financial Institutions and Markets and Professor of Economics at the Stern School of Business, New York University. He is a leading scholar of the Federal Reserve and the Financial History of the United States, and received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Business History Conference in 2011.

Here is a link to further information on the work of these scholars.